PDA

View Full Version : any ID on this one ????

Green Dragon
10-22-2009, 09:30 PM
OK, was going through my pics of my last years attic find, looking for Micro Probe details (see other thread here on YORF ).

have this pic of a bird in the lot.

looks to be a kit, but I have no knowledge beyond that .

it's ST7, 3/32" balsa fins, has CHROME vacuplated cone, not painted.... ( white plastic cone ).

I have NEVER seen this cone , or know who made it, so unsure the kit origin either.

these 53 birds , and some late 1968 engines, were found, wrapped in 1972 newspapers, in a local attic. in the fall of 2008.

lot of nice parts, warped fins, early kits and scratchbuilts, plus many that might be plan-built, if the plans could be found ( mostly military type rockets - sidewinder,seahawk,etc )

any thoughts.

pic 1 = rocket asking about above, chrome cone

other pics are teaser shots the day I brought em home, filled the entire porch railing of my duplex :)

sandman
10-22-2009, 10:38 PM
Seems pretty heavy on the Centuri side.

Nice find.

SEL
10-23-2009, 01:18 AM
Al,

The rocket body and fins looks like a Centuri 'Chuter 2' minus the payload section. The nose cone I can't help you with.

S.

OK, was going through my pics of my last years attic find, looking for Micro Probe details (see other thread here on YORF ).

it's ST7, 3/32" balsa fins, has CHROME vacuplated cone, not painted.... ( white plastic cone ).

I have NEVER seen this cone , or know who made it, so unsure the kit origin either.

these 53 birds , and some late 1968 engines, were found, wrapped in 1972 newspapers, in a local attic. in the fall of 2008.

lot of nice parts, warped fins, early kits and scratchbuilts, plus many that might be plan-built, if the plans could be found ( mostly military type rockets - sidewinder,seahawk,etc )

any thoughts.

pic 1 = rocket asking about above, chrome cone

other pics are teaser shots the day I brought em home, filled the entire porch railing of my duplex :)

Green Dragon