Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Ye Olde Rocket Forum (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/index.php)
-   Building Techniques (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   fin fillets (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/showthread.php?t=5996)

panja12 10-13-2009 08:02 PM

fin fillets

I am new to this hobby and I just finished building the estes crossbow sst, didn't fly to well but I learned a bit about construction techniques. but I also came up with a couple questions:
would krazy glue do for CA?
what epoxies do I need, 6min, 5min, 30min etc? any other supplies for working with this adhesive?
and how do make fin fillets? tack the fin on with CA, then apply epoxy and smooth it out?
any other methods? perhaps easier and quicker and just as purdy?
also, if I am to use epoxy for the fins, would epoxy putty from home depot work?

tbzep 10-13-2009 08:46 PM

Krazy glue is a brand of mass marketed CA.

You don't need any epoxy for model rockets unless it's a special application. You also don't need CA unless it's for a special application. Plain old white or yellow glue is all you need for 98% of model rocket construction.

Most of us use the double gluing method with white or yellow glue to apply balsa fins, but a few do use CA to tack the fins on before finishing up with white/yellow glue. Do a quick search on "double glue joint" and you will find several posts explaining it.

We normally use white or yellow glue for fillets unless we are building larger high power rockets. For model rockets, all you do is run a bead of white/yellow glue at the fin/body tube joint and smooth it out with your finger. For high power rockets you can do the same thing with epoxy, but use latex gloves.

Epoxy for model rockets is overkill. It's heavy compared to white/yellow glue, more of a mess, more expensive, etc. I never have glue joint failures when using white or yellow glue on regular body tubes and balsa fins. The body tubes rip or the fins break and the glue joint hangs together.