Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Building Techniques
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 05-21-2008, 07:20 AM
Junior Rocketeer

Default Spray paint problem...

I am a beginner at spray painting and I forgot to wear gloves, mask, and I painted a very thick coat of paint on my rocket, now it looks like orange skin. Does any body now how to remove the paint from rockets?
Old 05-21-2008, 07:57 AM
The_Ripper

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewcoppell
I am a beginner at spray painting and I forgot to wear gloves, mask, and I painted a very thick coat of paint on my rocket, now it looks like orange skin. Does any body now how to remove the paint from rockets?

I would let the paint dry completely. This could take a few weeks since you said you have a very thick coat of paint and depending on how humid the area is where you are located. Some of the orange skin may go away as the solvents evaporate from the paint and the paint will shrink a little but it's best to just be patient and let it dry completely and then try to sand it smooth. If you don't let it dry completely you'll only gum up the sandpaper and make a mess.

I'd recommend this over a paint remover. Paint removers (depending on what type you use) have harsh chemicals in them that can harm plastics and depending on what adhesives you used for your build could react with the adhesive bond.

Leave it in the garage or if the weather is good put it outside in the yard each day to dry a little more until you don't smell any paint solvents like the paint is still wet. Then try to sand.

SAM# 0052

🚀 In Construction: Der Blue Maxx/Minie-Magg 5.5” & Vander-Burn MDRM Clone w/Stickershock23 Custom Decals
🚀 In Paint & Detail: USR Banshee
🚀 In Build Queue: Estes Doorknob w/Vander-Burn Rocketry Upgrade Kit [Sport Decor], Semroc Centurion-F, Semroc Egg Crate
🚀 In Repair: SLS Lil’ Hustler, SLS Aero-Dart 1969 Trim