Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Projects
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 10-13-2012, 10:26 AM
Custom Cone, Kit & Decal Maker

Default Now for a project I always wanted to do. The Wood Sprint

Bear with me, this may be long and drawn out but what the heck, this is a hobby and you guys don't have anything better to do so read on.

Between the decals and custom orders I seem to have lost a bit of creative urge with my rocketry hobby.

I need to renew and restore that before I'm tempted to dig out my Model Railroad stuff.

As most of you probably know, I'm a woodworker.

I love wood and over the years I have accumulated a nice collection of different exotic woods.

With that in mind I always wanted to do a "wood" rocket but never really sat down and figured out exactly what I wanted to do.

The past week or so I was doing my annual fall shop cleaning so I could make room for my wife's car to fit in my shop for winter.
In the process of cleaning I found some very nice veneers I had that made me pause long enough for the creative light bulb to flicker on over my head.

What I found is a very beautiful but rare wood veneer called "Macassar Ebony". Very very pretty.

http://www.thewoodbox.com/data/wood...rEbony-info.htm

This wood was the inspiration for this project.

Now...What will the rocket be??

I decided to pick my absolute favorite design..The Astron Sprint!

I've always loved that design. The elliptical nose cone, the tapered tail cone, and most of all the clipped elliptical fin with their root to tip taper and pleasing elliptical shape reminiscent of the Supermarine Spitfire.

I decided to use my upscaled design version with the BT-56 main body tube. 1.34" O.D. but it will be a bit bigger with the veneer added.

OK not that much bigger. The veneer is 0.021" thick.