Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Vendors
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2006, 10:50 AM
Junior Rocketeer

Default good place to buy kits, etc?

I'm new to this hobby and I'm wondering about good places to buy kits and supplies. I prefer to buy over the internet and i'd rather have good info than the lowest prices. I found what seems like a new site at www.heavenlyhobbies.com that seems excellent with some unusual items (and a very clean looking web design), and also www.discountrocketry.com which seems more cookie cutter but with lots of items. Can anyone recommend these sites as reliable or others? Thanks
Old 11-24-2006, 11:30 AM
Custom Cone, Kit & Decal Maker

To be honest I've never heard of the first one Heavenlyhobbies and I've never ordered from Discountrocketry but I have ordered directly from SEMROC

http://www.semroc.com

from Fliskits.

http://fliskits.com/

and from Apogee components.

http://www.apogeerockets.com/site_map.asp

with good results.

http://sandmandecals.com/
Old 11-24-2006, 01:06 PM
Old-Timer

Default Re: Ordering online

I can heartily endorse each of the vendors Sandman has mentioned.

As for Discount Rocketry, they proved to be the only source for the the 1/100th scale manned launch vehicles and helped me get one of each, despite the rarity of the 1/100 Mercury Atlas.

Another with both 'cloner' kits as well as some nice kits of his own is Thrustline Aerospace at www.thrustaero.com John has done some interesting model & mid-power rockets, and his Arapahoe E and Mars Probe are on my shopping list, but I still have not placed an order.

Always share your experiences as well. Others can benefit from learning of other vendors you have dealt with.

All the Best to You.

Glen A.

NAR 26298 L1
Old 11-24-2006, 04:32 PM
Rocketaholic

Default Good Places to buy rocket itmes on line