Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Work Bench > Projects
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2006, 01:33 AM
Situation Normal All F'ed Up

Default Adding A Light To A Rocket?

Hey, All-

This is my first post and I have a question for anyone who can answer it.

I am wanting to put a light on a rocket so it can be launched at night and easily spotted. I've looked all over the web and I have not been able to find a kit with a light attached. If anyone has a link for a kit that has a light, I would appeciate it.

If not, what would be the easiest way to do this myself?
My first thought was to get a payloader with a transparent compartment and rig up a light in there somehow. How much weight can I put in there before I mess up the rocket's balance? I want to keep it small but visible while the rocket is airborn.

Maybe I should just get some glow in the dark Spraypaint?

I am new to this and haven't even gotten my first rocket yet. I just ordered the Quest Super Eagle Quick-Kit last night and I'm already impatient for it to get here. I've been looking at so much rocketry stuff on the web that it's a bit overwhelming. I've got about 8 or 9 rocket kits that I want to get after I get used to working with this first one. I also have a few half baked ideas in my head for a few home built models as well.

Anyway, I thank you all for your help and I look forward to learning more!
Old 01-04-2006, 02:56 AM
BP Mafia

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Lone Rocketeer
Hey, All-

This is my first post and I have a question for anyone who can answer it.

I am wanting to put a light on a rocket so it can be launched at night and easily spotted. I've looked all over the web and I have not been able to find a kit with a light attached. If anyone has a link for a kit that has a light, I would appeciate it.

If not, what would be the easiest way to do this myself?