Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > BARCLONE > Software
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2013, 02:29 PM
mojo1986's Avatar
mojo1986 mojo1986 is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingston, CANADA
Posts: 1,656
Default Work Around for MAC

I have a MAC BOOK Pro and recently tried to set up both of my two scanners to run with it (unsuccessfully). The scanners are a Canon and an HP. When I tried to download drivers for the scanners I was informed that they were not supported for MAC. I've heard that there is a way around this. Any suggestions from the computer-literate folks on this site? Surprisingly, I also have a Canon printer and had no problem going to their site to download the driver for that.

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2013, 03:39 PM
BEC's Avatar
BEC BEC is offline
Master Modeler
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 2,303
Default

It's not free, but VueScan (see http://www.hamrick.com/) saved me when my older Canon scanner didn't have Windows 7 drivers. I also have tried it on my MacBook Pro with good success.
__________________
Bernard Cawley
NAR 89040 L1 - Life Member
SAM 0061
AMA 42160
KG7AIE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:32 PM
CPMcGraw's Avatar
CPMcGraw CPMcGraw is offline
BARCLONE Rocketry
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 5,355
Default

Can you run the SANE interface, like us Linux users run? SANE is open-source and knows how to talk with a bunch of scanners. I'm using a Cannon USB-powered LIDE scanner, and I have no problem at all...
__________________
Craig McGraw

BARCLONE Rocketry -- http://barclone.rocketshoppe.com
BARCLONE Blogsite -- http://barclone.wordpress.com
BARCLONE Forum -- BARCLONE Forum

BARs helping BARs

SAM 0044
AMA 352635
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2013, 09:39 PM
tbzep's Avatar
tbzep tbzep is offline
Dazed and Confused
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TN
Posts: 8,713
Default

If all else fails, install Virtualbox virtual machine and load an old copy of whatever flavor of Windows you can get your hands on.

I use Virtualbox on my Linux machine for a couple of Windows programs, plus it's easy to install different distros of Linux to test drive. I could install a Mac OS if I had one.
__________________
I love sanding.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ye Olde Rocket Shoppe 1998-2018