Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Ye Olde Rocket Forum (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/index.php)
-   Plans & Publications (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   any ID on this one ???? (http://www.oldrocketforum.com/showthread.php?t=6051)

Green Dragon 10-22-2009 09:30 PM

any ID on this one ????

5 Attachment(s)
OK, was going through my pics of my last years attic find, looking for Micro Probe details (see other thread here on YORF ).

have this pic of a bird in the lot.

looks to be a kit, but I have no knowledge beyond that .

it's ST7, 3/32" balsa fins, has CHROME vacuplated cone, not painted.... ( white plastic cone ).

I have NEVER seen this cone , or know who made it, so unsure the kit origin either.

these 53 birds , and some late 1968 engines, were found, wrapped in 1972 newspapers, in a local attic. in the fall of 2008.

lot of nice parts, warped fins, early kits and scratchbuilts, plus many that might be plan-built, if the plans could be found ( mostly military type rockets - sidewinder,seahawk,etc )

any thoughts.

pic 1 = rocket asking about above, chrome cone

other pics are teaser shots the day I brought em home, filled the entire porch railing of my duplex :)

sandman 10-22-2009 10:38 PM

Seems pretty heavy on the Centuri side.

Nice find.

SEL 10-23-2009 01:18 AM

Al,

The rocket body and fins looks like a Centuri 'Chuter 2' minus the payload section. The nose cone I can't help you with.

S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Dragon
OK, was going through my pics of my last years attic find, looking for Micro Probe details (see other thread here on YORF ).

it's ST7, 3/32" balsa fins, has CHROME vacuplated cone, not painted.... ( white plastic cone ).

I have NEVER seen this cone , or know who made it, so unsure the kit origin either.

these 53 birds , and some late 1968 engines, were found, wrapped in 1972 newspapers, in a local attic. in the fall of 2008.