Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > The Doctor is In! > Ask the Doctor
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 04-22-2020, 09:47 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Question integrating Google maps, ThrustCurve and OpenRocket maybe..

Has anybody ever used Google Earth to locate a missing item?

On Feb 29th, I launched my rocket, on a relatively windy day, winds were just below the 20/mph upper limit. I am new to hpr. The motor, wasn't suited for the rocket.

My motor retention system was a jury rigged bent coat hanger. Because of the gusting, I was afraid that the igniter would drop out of the motor, so I laced it thru the "hanger". At ignition, the rocket seemed to lift up and pause for an instant and then resume its ascent. As soon as it cleared the end of the rail, which eas pointed straight up, or nearly straight up, the rocket tilted over to somewhere between a 45 degree to a 60 degree angle of ascent. I am a older codger, so my eyes aren;t as sharp as they used to be, I lost sight of the rocket. I am reliant on better eyes of my colleagues. Arms out stretched, they pointed the direction they last saw my rocket go.

It's pretty flat here on the east coast of Florida. We launch in an area about 3 miles square, interlaced with a number of paved roads but devoid of human habitation or edifices. We are appreciative of our RC bretheren, who, over the years have kept the wild and wooly ever growing tropical jungle to somewhat tamed savannah -- or what I imagine pampas might look like. One can see acres and acres of grass occasionally interrupted with lines of trees. The grass is anywhere from 6" high to 4 feet high. More often it is the latter we have to reckon with.

Some of us print Google Maps of the area, and when one of our errant missiles fall from our view in a direction, someone will whip out a compass, get a bearing and plot the whereabouts with a protractor and straight edge.