Ye Olde Rocket Forum

Go Back   Ye Olde Rocket Forum > Weather-Cocked > FreeForAll
User Name
Password
Auctions Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts Search Mark Forums Read

Old 05-26-2012, 12:16 PM
Junior Rocketeer

Default So why Kerosene and LOX only in the first stage?

So my daughter was asking me (after having seen that beast of a Saturn V at KSC recently), why the fuels were different in Stage 1 (Kerosene and LOX) from Stage 2 and 3 (LH and LOX).

My answer was something like "because the Kerosene won't burn in the upper atmosphere or in space." She's 8, so the argument works (and I thought it was an excellent question).

Now, I'm no engineer, chemist, or physicist, nor do I play any of these on TV, but:

Then I got to thinking.... that's not true at all.... you've still got the LOX as an oxidizer. But (1) you'd have to carry a whole heck of a lot more LOX to burn the kerosene in vacuum than you could possibly carry, or (2) the kerosene weighs much more than the LH, or (3) the kerosene, not being supercooled, would boil off in a vacuum.

Which one is right?

Thanks.

Kevin

(PS I apologize for the crosspost on the other "major" rocketry forum).
Old 05-26-2012, 12:22 PM
Dazed and Confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by khill444444
So my daughter was asking me (after having seen that beast of a Saturn V at KSC recently), why the fuels were different in Stage 1 (Kerosene and LOX) from Stage 2 and 3 (LH and LOX).

My answer was something like "because the Kerosense won't burn in the upper atmosphere or in space." She's 8, so the argument works (and I thought it was an excellent question).

Now, I'm no engineer, chemist, or physicist, nor do I play any of these on TV, but: